Procedures – 2020

District 39 Procedures/Standing Rules
[May 2020]

1. The boundaries of this District shall be as follows: California and Nevada:

a) Bound on the west by District 57, on the north by Districts 7 and 15, and on the south by District 33;
b) Bound on the west by the Coastal Mountain Range, on the north by the Oregon state line with the exception of the State of California County of Modoc which belongs to District 7, on the east by State of Nevada Counties of Eureka, Humboldt and Landers and by the Stanislaus and San Joaquin Rivers in the State of California;
c) All of Carson City, Churchill, Douglas, Lyon, Pershing, Storey, and Washoe Counties of the State of Nevada, and those parts of Esmeralda, Mineral, and Nye Counties lying north of U.S. Highway 6 in the State of Nevada, including cities intersected by U.S. Highway 6; and
d) All of Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo, and  Yuba Counties in the State of California, and that part of Solano County lying east of the foothills along Interstate Highway 680 and Highway 12 that intersects Interstate Highway 80 near        Red Top Mountain Road which includes the Solano County cities of Fairfield; Suisun City, Vacaville, Rio Vista, and Dixon.

2. The Administrative Manager, Finance Manager, Public Relations Manager, and Area Directors shall be appointed and served at the will of the District Director, subject to the approval of the District Executive Committee and are confirmed by the District Council.

3. Areas shall be numbered with two digit numbers as follows: The first digit shall represent the numerical equivalent of the Division letter. The second digit shall represent the Area within the Division.

4. “All District Conferences are placed on a five-year calendar, with Spring Conferences chaired by teams consisting of two Divisions. The host Division Directors shall be Conference Co-Chairs, unless otherwise appointed by the District Director. [May 2016]

Suggested Rotation
Spring 2020 Divisions D and I
Spring 2021 Divisions C and F
Spring 2022 Divisions A and B
Spring 2023 Divisions E and J
Spring 2024 Divisions G and H

5. At each District Council meeting, the Credentials Desk shall be closed at the time the Council meeting is called to order and no proxies shall be accepted after that time. Should a quorum not be established, the Presiding Officer may reopen the credentials desk in accordance with Robert’s Rules of Order Newly Revised for the sole purpose of establishing a quorum.

6. The recipient of the “Sustained Service Award to District 39” {previously known as the Herb A. Yarbrough Award}, shall be selected annually by the District Director with recommendations from Past District Governors/Directors. The Award shall be presented by the District 39 Director during the Spring Conference.

7. “District 39 shall not host a “Toastmasters Event” in the “Greater Sacramento Metro Area” which conflicts with the Sacramento County Academic Decathlon.” [May 2016]

8. The Spring Conference will be held during the month of May {whenever possible}