

District Director's Report
District Executive Committee Meeting
July 8, 2023

Where Leaders Are Made

Lance K. McMahan, DTM

District Director, 2023-2024
District 39 Toastmasters
Lance.McMahan@District39.org

GOALS FOR 2023/2024

- Club Retention Goal: All the clubs in Good Standing on July 1, 2023, are in Good Standing on June 30, 2024.
- ❖ Goal Progress: 3 of ???. Three clubs have 8 or more members renewed for the term beginning October 1, 2023, as of July 5.
- New Clubs Goal: Open one or more new clubs in each of the 23 Areas.
- **❖ Goal Progress**: None, as of July 5, 2023.

BUDGET

- Incentives: We are evaluating their effectiveness and management.
- Storage: We rent one storage unit and are considering a small climate-controlled unit for A/V equipment.
- Website Update: We are seeking supplemental funding for contractor; TI will evaluate after receiving draft budget in July.
- Zoom: We are reducing licenses and storage, adding webinars, and reducing costs \$2K.

VOTE... VOTE... VOTE!

- Annual Business Meeting: Proxies must be assigned to a Toastmaster who will attend either in-person or online.
 - o Proxy Assignment is open now.
 - o Proxy Assignment closes August 11.
 - Online Credentials August 12–15.
 - D39 Caucus: Gather in-person & online to discuss candidates. 6:15 pm PT August 17.
 - Voting 4-7 am PT Friday, August 18.
- District Executive Committee: 6 pm Monday, August 28.
- District Council: 6 pm Tuesday, September 26.

DUE DATES to Toastmasters Int'l.

July 15: District Leader List; District Calendar; New Alignment.

July 31: Draft Budget.

August 31: Club Officer Training Ends; 22/23 Audit; Fixed Asset & Accrual Templates.

September 1: District Leader List for credit.

September 30: Division and Area Directors Training Report; District Success Plan;

District Budget.

District Director Team Members

Public Relations Manager: Lynda Mendez

<u>Finance Manager</u>: Mirka Johnson <u>Administration Manager:</u> Sue Eisberg

Logistics Manager: Vacant

District Leadership Chair: Denise Alder Gutherz

Alignment Chair: Laura Gregory

23/24 Audit Committee Chair: Ed Johnson

Parliamentarian: Rick Sydor

Webmaster (temporary): George Jarosik

Audio/Visual Chair: Joey Waldrop